Publisher Wane Hailes Receives Prestigious John R. Lewis Humanitarian Award

Publisher Wane Hailes Receives Prestigious John R. Lewis Humanitarian Award

By CEL Staff

The Alpha Phi Sigma Chapter of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity Inc. hosted its annual Scholarship Lunch Program on Saturday, April 27, 2024, at the Columbus Trade Center, honoring the esteemed legacy of the late Congressman John R. Lewis. Over 200 attendees gathered for this meaningful occasion, celebrating community leaders, scholarship recipients, and dedicated individuals who embody the spirit of service.

The event was a testament to the Chapter Brothers’ commitment to recognizing and uplifting their community. From the welcoming presence of JROTC cadets from Jordan High School to the stirring performances by Ms. Dondra Holloway, Ms. Sonya Robinson, Mr. Roderick Baptiste, and Ronita Baptist, the atmosphere was filled with warmth and inspiration.

Mr. Monaleto C. Irby, International Director of Collegiate Affairs for Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc., delivered a powerful message, urging attendees to address societal and economic challenges by actively engaging in mentoring programs and supporting youth initiatives.

Dr. Jake Golden, IV, Alpha Phi Sigma Chapter, skillfully led the program as Master of Ceremony, keeping the audience engaged and uplifted throughout the event.

Among the distinguished recognitions, was the presentation of the John R. Lewis Humanitarian Award to our Publisher, Mr. Wane Hailes, as a testament to his exemplary dedication to humanitarian efforts and social justice.

Other community leaders were celebrated for their outstanding service including Mr. Gerald Riley, Owner of Overflo Salon and Barber Shop, who received the James Walker Bigger & Better Business Award; Dr. Michael Forte who was honored with the SP Charleston Education Award; Ms. Cheryl Johnson who received the Henry Cook Social Action Award; Mr. Marvin Broadwater who was recognized with the WC Jackson Sigma Beta Adult Mentor Award; and Triston Hughley who received the WC Jackson Sigma Beta Youth Leader Award.

The Scholarship Lunch concluded with a closing prayer led by Mr. William Kendrick, leaving all attendees filled with inspiration and gratitude for the legacy of John R. Lewis and the collective spirit of service that unites the community.

Great! You’ve successfully signed up.

Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.

You've successfully subscribed to Couriernews.

Success! Check your email for magic link to sign-in.

Success! Your billing info has been updated.

Your billing was not updated.